My friend Stan DeWitt is at it once more, inviting me to Long Beach at the end of the month...he writes:

"Hey all! If you're in So. Cal. on August 27, we're hosting a backyard concert with Penny Nichols' buddy David Roth. David took over as Executive Director (at Penny's request) of SummerSongs week-long songwriting and music camp in New York a few years ago, and I've hosted him several times over the years in my series. He's a brilliant songwriter, storyteller and entertainer. You don't want to miss it! Space is very limited. It's BYO chairs, BYO food and beverages of choice. The Hollywood Bowl without the traffic. $10 minimum donation per person. RSVPs REQUIRED! RSVP to me at with number of persons, and I'll send you the address. David Roth,Saturday, August 27, 5:00pm"

Thanks, Stan (who'll join me for a few songs on Mando/guitar).

I'm also up for a church on Sunday morning 8/28 in the LA area if you know of a community/congregation in need of a guest soloist OR a sermon-in-song on short notice! Just didn't get around to this
til now.

The reason for the trip? Two-fold.

1) Of course, to play music and reconnect with old and new friends along the way, as Stan has so graciously made possible once more.

2) To visit and care for my now 96-year old mom Gloria in Mar Vista, ten minutes north of LAX. Some of you know this has been an odyssey since the pandemic began in early 2020, my sweet mom is a survivor, and my sister and I have been taking turns coming out to LA just about every 5 weeks all this time to be by her side and give her the 24/7 help she's needed for a couple years now.

Co-managing this from the other side of the country has been an exercise in, well, everything. Now comes the question:
I'm in search of someone who could look after Gloria for any parts of the week of October 4-11, when I'm not able to come as "scheduled" due to work starting up again (which I need). So I wonder if you know someone (and hope you don't mind my reaching out to my friends and supporters in this way - I wouldn't if I didn't need to) who could be her care-giver that week.

There's a guest room and full bath in the back of her little ranch house, and her activity is very limited these days. What she needs is morning coffee (decaf!), a couple simple meals a day, help getting dressed, a sponge bath every now and then, her daily meds (pills), and someone to be there in the house during that week just in case. She's pretty quiet mostly, but will talk come to life if the subject is music, enjoys watching movies, is an avid reader.

Kindly contact me if you can be a resource for some much-needed help in that window.
There may be another window November 15-22.

Thanks so much.
Gloria 4